Allowing the Messy Imperfect Me

Imperfection-is-beauty

I often use this place to work through my thoughts. I process right on the page, and sometimes don’t even know what will flow out of me until the end. There is freedom in that, and there is permission. Writing is such a wonderful tool. For me, I do this all while ‘momming’ about my morning. Making lunches, getting lost socks and hollering, “Did you brush your teeth?” before school. I like to write in the morning before the day gets started to open my energy.

I’ve noticed that my writing needs editing the most when the kids have tugged me away from my thoughts or I am called away from the computer altogether and lose the flow. Sometimes I end up abandoning a thought in the chaos of the morning and never come back to it. Other times I write and hit post without re-reading it until later in the day.

I used to stress about mistakes in a post, poor editing on my part or mistakes in conveying meaning. It used to be a hit to my ego, allowing the messy imperfect me to be visible. But everything can be updated. And isn’t that such a metaphor for our lives? No matter how many mistakes we make, who thinks what about us, everything is a tool. We always have the ability to change our narrative when we become aware of what doesn’t work. But it doesn’t make us less valuable when we show up un-formed.

We’ve been too hard on the idea of imperfection (as a collective) for too long. Just look at how everyone uses filters in their lives. There are no bad pictures when you can take twenty selfies to show your best light. There is a beauty in showing up as you are, unedited and uncensored. You can always change what doesn’t flow when you become aware of it. Don’t pay any mind to those who want to make an issue of your rough edges. There will always be those who prefer the beauty of cut gems over jagged rocks. Their reaction to imperfection says more about them and their journey than it ever will of yours.

 

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Inspiration, Personal Growth, Women Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

