Be Gentle

One of my first spiritual texts was the Desiderata, I’ve posted the story of when I first began to use it, go ahead, check out the link it wasn’t a long post. What is amazing is how lines of that text float to me unbidden at times, reminding me of how I want to be.

“…Beyond a wholesome discipline,
be gentle with yourself.
You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars..”

Sitting quietly, reflecting on the women’s circles I’ve joined and the on-line communities I am part of, I am floored by those who are willing to move into the awakening path with willing steps. My heart is so full, this is a great time for global community. There are sharing circles and wisdom circles and artistic communities, discussions on how to stay awaken in the face of world change. It’s beautiful. Like watching a toddler on shaky legs getting their footing, stumbling about like a rum-soaked sailor only to fall on a diaper cushioned bottom, stunned. Determination and desire has the toddler rise again, willing to strengthen the muscles that will carry them forward towards the world they want to live in. So to do these people I am witnessing possess such determination.

I see these awakening seekers from a mother’s energy. Not perfect, but willing to try. No two are exactly alike and my mother’s heart finds them all beautiful. Flowers in a garden, chaotic and riotous in texture and color. I don’t know where this comes from, this feeling of motherhood to the many, but I feel such a deep pride in women communities. The magic unleashed with our collective asking. Ahhhh, it gives me chills.

When judgment arises, and it does because I’m not perfect, I am reminded of perception. My lens of the world is just that, a singular view. I must remember to stay gentle and listen deeper, because like a mother I can see the path, but can not walk it for my child.

Every spiritual journey begins in stages, each begins with an asking of some form, then a learning phase. Some stages get repeated over and over again and each are always followed by a time of practice. This is the integration into the human experience that must take place, it is necessary to walk these teaching into the world of form. Daily practice teaches more than knowledge can. Words don’t teach, the journey does that…non-attachment to everything does that… and all of that takes human time. Depending on the degree of resistance involved this is a life long endeavour, never-ending … once a layer is peeled back, a new one is revealed. So, how ‘in’ are you on this path? How deep do you want to travel?

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Everyday Connection, Inspiration, Women Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

