Visibility and The Power of Witnessing

There is a great power in allowing yourself to be witnessed, to become visible undoes the knots that bind us to the past. When I was twenty-one I was part of a Reiki Sharing Circle that met once a month. For those who don’t know, a sharing circle is where Reiki practitioners come together and practice on each other, a way of learning and re-balancing as you traverse the path of healing. Since we humans have so many layers, sharing circles are invaluable on the Reiki journey, especially in the beginning. That is because words don’t teach only experience does. Each person would get on the table and have a short session with five or six practitioners at once, a highly concentrated session always super charged and fun for an energy junky like me.

When I would get on the table for my turn one of the women would get the impression of me hiding. I can remember the lady’s gentle coaxing, “come out, come and play” and it would make me feeling found out, tugged from my comfort zone. She wasn’t intrusive, but I felt like I was being asked to become visible. I was intrigued by what she sensed from me, even as I didn’t feel like I was hiding. Knowing more about my journey now, I most certainly was hiding and I wasn’t coming out until I felt safe.

It took another group, and another circle to bring me out of my energetic barriers so I could truly see what the woman in the first group was picking up on. Safety in my own energy field was a huge component to working with visibility.  Once I learned that I was safe no matter what, I began to ground my personal energy in a way that let me become visible on an energetic level. Then I could share from the depths of my heart in a new way.

As a result of learning to sit in circle with other women, I’ve learned that not only being visible myself, but witnessing others has immense power to it. What one person does shifts the others that encounter them and is just one reason why we say “in the room, in the deal.” Watching those who I call my sisters become vulnerable and unmasked was not only beautiful, but empowering. As a person who views things from an energetic level, as they opened I too would open, soften and unfurl. “What one does, they do for the many”, repeats in my head on loop when I get to witness. There is so much magic here, if we will just slow down long enough to look…

 

 

 

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Healing Energy, Inspiration, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

