Catnip Tea

I love warm drinks, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, if you invite me for either I’m a happy girl. I have a particular fondness for Chai Tea without sugar while at home, though I will order a Chai Late if out and thoroughly enjoy the sugar and cream as a treat.  I buy pre-made tea bags and have a favorite brand that’s easy to get at the grocery store. I forgot how much I liked making my own teas until just last night when a friend brought me some dried leaves.

When I was a teenager I would pick raspberry, mint and rose hips from our garden, I played around with dehydrating them and saving them in mason jars for a time. I think it was after my mother gifted me with a book of curative herbs that taught how to make teas and tinctures. But I’m sure it came out of some romantic notion of collecting the leaves and flowers myself at just the right time. I’ve always been a dreamy sort and part of that just appealed to my inner idealist. I was fascinated with make my own things for a time, a phase that seemed to get tucked into a pocket of my memories until last night.

My children have had fevers for the past few days, nothing serious just a deep need for rest and be home time. Mostly my children catch something when they need more time with me, deeper connection and harmonizing with the mother energy and to be held in the safety of home for a time. It’s not always about using Reiki to ‘heal’ the moment, but allowing the energy to be of use in the way that is needed.

After hearing the girls were not well, one of my friends stopped by with dried catnip to make a tea for them; something he swears by for fevers and colds. I boiled two tablespoons on the stove for just under ten minutes making my cat loopy in the kitchen with the steam. My friend forgot to mention that part as I watched my cat rub all over the door frame of the kitchen like a loon. While the leaves bubbled on the stove I added turmeric and ginger to aid in their recovery, poured the tea into two little cups and added honey for taste. They drank it down without a fuss and the fever came down within twenty minutes.

A quick internet search, because I love to google things, and I learned that catnip tea taken three times a day has many healing benefits. It has antipyretic effects, which means it can help break a fever, and keep your body temperature down during common illnesses. It will also cause you to sweat more without allowing your body temperature to rise, so you can sweat out the toxins without a fever. Both things I witnessed with my children last night

It’s said that catnip tea (or catnip extract) can also be helpful in eliminating headaches, especially migraine and stress headaches by relaxing your muscles, thus in turn helping to relieve headaches which are caused from tension or stress. Catnip is also a mild sedative, this means a cup of catnip tea can help you get to sleep at night, and stay that way; also something I witness last night with my children. It’s a natural sleep aid without any harmful chemicals or drugs.

In women, it can help bring on their menstrual period, and relieve many of the symptoms which occur with this cycle, like bloating, cramping and abdominal pain. Sounds very much like the effects of raspberry leaf tea that I used years ago. Both help to relax and tone the muscles of the uterus, making it stronger.

Looks like I’ll be growing catnip in my garden this summer and revisiting some of my earlier tendencies to make my own herbal teas,  now if I can just keep my cat out of it …

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Healing Energy, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

