When We Were Five Years Old

P1170302Why is it that there is so much love and innocence in a four year old’s drawing? I think it is because they don’t compare themselves to those who have less or more talent.

Someplace between four and six we learn the comparison game. We learn to measure ourselves against who is sitting next to us. Sometimes we begin to notice we aren’t as good as the next person and begin to think we are somehow ‘less than’. I can’t draw, I can’t dance , I can’t sing… it doesn’t matter what it is, the can’t begins to define us as if being really good at something is the only way to exist in this world.

Everyone has the ability to make a picture, to sing, to shake their body to the rhythm…to be expressive and free. There is magic in childhood that is often forgotten as we age, as we block our creativity and wonder.

P1170303

In the art class I am taking the first lesson has been to draw a face, to forget about blending and shading and just pay attention to where there are highlights. There is a technique to follow, it feels foreign and restrictive to me. The more I try to follow the rules the harder it is to feel the flow, so I breathe and soften into the process. It’s fun making faces, wonky, round, disproportionate, masculine, feminine … each one has its own feel. I’ve lost a few hours just trying to reconnect with shapes and fine motor control.

There is a harsh critique in me, one who will have to learn to soften. The class is eight weeks, culminating in an expression of the Divine Feminine. There is such joy on my refrigerator, little gifts of love from my children, such reminders of the perfection of imperfection. As I practice my faces, working towards the final painting I will be mindful to bring the energy of my children into the practice, joyfully swirling the colors of creation for the pleasure of it.ย Watching my progression with the magic of childhood as best I can, I’ll attempt to silence the critical aspect of my mind with play.


art123paint1Lesson1cd

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When We Were Five Years Old

  1. Children are by far our best teachers aren’t they? Your face painting is looking good. I felt it go from Masculine to Feminine as you got more into the flow. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy being open to your creativity. It’s such a magical world. xoxo

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ I noticed how my faces change when I was uptight, attempting to follow the rules, I would make a masculine face, but as I relaxed SHE emerged, I’m loving this art class so much for its subtle teachings!

    • So typical of masculine – doing. And then the Feminine – being.
      It comes naturally even when we are following a process once we get over “trying” phase. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s amazing how many areas this shows up ๐Ÿ™‚ even after several years of working with Her, at this point I don’t think I’m surprised, just tickled that I can apply the tools that lets Her come out and play!

  2. Yes..I think it must be the part of the way we all work. We do have Masculine energy in us and we need to tap into it for the doing part..so I guess it is really all still part of the being..if that makes sense? It’s wonderful that we are aware of the movement of these energies and we can see it come out in our work..and play. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yes, that makes complete sense within my paradigm of masculine and feminine energy ๐Ÿ™‚ I think the balancing of the two in ultimately necessary so we can recognize what part of us is required (and honor that part) in every given moment. But in order to do that we’ve been so cut off from Her collectively that a re-training of sorts needs to take place. It’s wonderful so many women (and men) are awakening, it gives me chills when I zoom out for the bigger picture ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

