With each step, the wind blows

The mind can go in a thousand directions,
but on this beautiful path,
I walk in peace.

With each step, the wind blows.
With each step, a flower blooms.

~Thich Nhat Hanh

Yesterday morning I was melancholy. I needed to turn inward to find that path to contentment and it took most of the morning to get myself back on track; into perfect alignment. Errands, study time, my children’s giggles and some wonderful sunshine seemed to wash me clean, this morning I feel like a different person all together.

Today, I’m focusing in on what nourishes me, from the food I eat, to the clothing I put on, to the way I walk and touch the ground. Sometimes I need to be reminded that each part of my day is special and full, not just punctuated by big events. The suds in the sink as I wash a pot, the smell of the air as I walk down the street. From the noise of traffic or the chirp of robins each moment is full of little reminders; I am part of this world.

Yesterday, it felt like I was alone in my thoughts, un-witnessed in my inability to transform myself fast enough, but we are never alone. I’m still in Sadhana and hyper aware that everything is part of my unfolding, so I allowed myself to feel what I was feeling. Being right where I was allowed my energy to flow again and I know today will continue in as long as I stay present to the moment.

In my e-mail this morning I was sent a poem by the English poet David Whyte, it’s a beautiful piece of writing from his book Everything is Waiting for You that seemed to sum up what I was feeling yesterday and this morning … it’s amazing how writing can do that to a person, tie us together so we are removed from our self-imposed isolation. We really have more in common that we have differences, yet we cling stubbornly to our individuality…and our stories.

Everything is Waiting for You

Your great mistake is to act the drama
as if you were alone.
As if life were a progressive and cunning crime
with no witness to the tiny hidden transgressions.

To feel abandoned is to deny
the intimacy of your surroundings.

You must note 
the way the soap dish enables you,
or the window latch grants you freedom.
Alertness is the hidden discipline of familiarity.
The stairs are your mentor of things to come,
the doors have always been there
to frighten you and invite you,
and the tiny speaker in the phone
is your dream-ladder to divinity.

Put down the weight of your aloneness
and ease into the conversation.
The kettle is singing even as it pours you a drink,
the cooking pots have left their arrogant aloofness
and seen the good in you at last.

All the birds and creatures of the world
are unutterably themselves.
Everything is waiting for you.

~  David Whyte

 

 

 

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Inspiration, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to With each step, the wind blows

  1. longandluxe says:

    Just perfectly inspiring and beautiful. Thank you, dear!! 🙂

    Peace be with you today ~ Allison

Leave a Reply

