If none of it’s real, why give up coffee, chocolate or sex?

Hare-Buttercups

I wasn’t born into a family that went to church on Sundays. As such Easter wasn’t really discussed when I was small, there wasn’t a context for the discussion. Other than the family gathering together, and my grandma buying me a new dress, I didn’t have any clue that there was more to the idea.

I must confess that the idea of the Easter Bunny was even lost on me in my childhood. So foreign in fact that when I was four (and spending Easter with my cousins) I was totally confused by the idea of chocolate and toys in the morning. I wonder if my father had known the pagan ties to the eggs and the bunnies if there would have been more incentive for Easter-egg hunting…but that’s another story.

As an adult I like to sit with the deeper symbolism of the seasons, sometimes deep in the Pagan and Christian ideas I find new growth to carry me forward. Old traditions tug at my spiritual heart-strings equally, their teaching surfacing when I need them. This year my esoteric friend and I have been discussing the idea of Lent.

I’m not trained in the concept, my notion of the idea comes from movies and bad jokes. The idea that it’s a time to give up something meaningful, something that could be seen as detrimental for long enough to make it feel uncomfortable isn’t one I’ve ever thought about seriously. While I’m not typically a surface person, my view is why give up coffee, chocolate or sex when they bring so much pleasure?

My friend suggested that one of the things that could be given up is the idea of our ‘identity‘; those self-limiting beliefs which pool together to create a sense of who we “think we are” as humans.

Now, there’s the deeper idea I can sink into. It’s a tall order though, if I am to forfeit my human identity how would I even go about looking at that?

My friend, who leans towards Esoteric Christianity, says,

“We are taught that our Divine inheritance will reveal itself when we let go of the limiting constraints of the ego’s idea of who it think we are.

In conjunction with this idea is the notion of letting go of physically manifested reality constructs. In other words, our bodies are not ‘real’ but simply a mechanism through which we can explore the idea of separation from that which created us.

Great in theory, but oh the attachments!

Not only are we thoroughly convinced that what we can touch, hear, see, smell, and taste are real constructs but that all of the things we generate out of that awareness hold attachment as well. We want to own things. We want to possess things, people, territory. And through possession, we then want to defend, harbor, clutch, and measure its value. Oh the ties that bind.”

So, none of it is real, that lesson just keeps coming back…maybe it’s the only lesson there is.

 

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If none of it’s real, why give up coffee, chocolate or sex?

  1. longandluxe says:

    I love the idea of shedding our old self, renewal, death of what held us back from glory. That’s my vision of Easter anyway 🙂 great post.

    I also love chocolate and jelly beans 🙂 haha

    Peace, Allison

Leave a Reply

