Contempt Prior to Investigation

earth

As a white woman, who grew up in a Canadian middle-class family in a town where diversity was almost non-existent, the argument could be made that I don’t understand what it is like to walk down the street and feel out-of-place. But it doesn’t mean that I don’t care about those who suffer from any form prejudice; with a 5′ 1″ frame I don’t always know how to handle the situation but it doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like to handle it with a linebacker’s attitude.

I didn’t have the impression that I grew-up within a racist or even a homophobic home. It was baffling to me as six-year-old, that there were words for people other than their given names.  Later in high-school, when I went to a boyfriend’s house for dinner, I was shocked to hear a racial slur thrown into ordinary conversation. And now, to be situated across the street from a neighbor that has no problem commenting on ethnicity (or religion) the comments feel like being hit with a bucket of cold water.

I feel ill-equipped to handle contempt of any kind. My solution is to state that I don’t agree, to then proceed to give the cold shoulder by disengage from social interaction and make sure my children are taught better. But it doesn’t seem like enough. If everything I do is to be elevated and looked upon from a Spiritual Perspective, then change begins with me. It has to be what I model and what I stand for in all areas of my life and it has to be what I teach my children. I may not be able to teach the world to play nice, but I can teach my children that it is a big wide universe, large enough for many ways of being.

If I can teach them that contempt prior to investigation comes from fear, and that fear is the only enemy we ever have, maybe I will have done something.

This morning I am taught nothing but compassion for my neighbor. I am full of gratitude that I have not been given their lesson, and that I had the upbringing that I did. We are love, we are light, we are one because there is no other, fear is our only divider and I will not live that way.

About Goddess in the Belly

Me? I'm one of the many bridges between two worlds. Blogging is a creative outlet for this energy to express itself. I believe nothing happens without vibration alignment, that we are continually creating as we go. Everything on these pages stems from my deep knowing that as we share honestly we transform the collective for the better.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Everyday Connection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

